Paper Princess & Broken Prince

So many feels. So. Many. Feels. The ending of Broken Prince left my brain in pieces. If anyone knows how to compel someone into reading another book in the series it’s Erin Watt. Because, Paper Princess and Broken Prince both have cliff hangers. Ok, for Paper Princess it wasn’t really a cliff hanger but it was a compelling end. But for Broken Prince…

CLIFFHANGER CENTRAL. And I have to wait to October for the next book? How is that fair, at all? So I stumbled on these books when I was casually searching on goodreads for a good chick-lit. I had just read The Wrath and the Dawn duology and decided for a nice high school setting chick lit. I came across this series before but I thought it was the same thing as the Selection so I just passed over it. I don’t need that stress again. Than I saw it again when I was surfing goodreads and read the description. When I read the description, I was hooked. This was around 11 PM. So I started reading thinking I would read a couple of chapters than go to bed. But I stayed until 3AM reading this book because I could not put it down. Than the next morning I read the sequel. And I am bursting with feels.

 


Paper Princess

Bookshelf

Plot: 4/5

Dialogue: 3.5/5

Ending: 4/5

Would I re-read this book: Yes

Would I read other novels by this Author: Yes

Would I recommend this book: Yes

Overall Rating:                                    4.1/5   

stars

Bookshelf

It took me a while to get all the brothers straight. As in who was the oldest, and who were the twins. For some reason, I almost put the book down because I couldn’t get them straight, but the plot started to get interesting so I sticked with it. Lets start with Reed, he was, as previously described, he was an asshole. A big one, especially when he kept basically saying that she was a slut. But he started to ease up after Ella was drugged and almost raped by Daniel.

                             OK,  Daniel was stressful to read about. I did not see that coming, for the most part. When he poked her with “his dart” in the back of my mind I knew he put something in her.Image result for Paper Princess But I didn’t want to pay attention to that small voice in the back of my mind. But after he poked her I knew it was coming, because his whole demeanor just changed in like .00007 seconds. I was genuinely upset about Daniel being a rapist. I
thought he would be like Adam from Fallen Crest high, or Adrian from Vampire Academy. You know, like the second temporary love interest, than eventually gets kicked to the curb but still remains friends? I didn’t like about him is that kept coming back, like he got beaten up, publicly embarrassed, and knocked out in 1 punch and yet he still comes back for more. Don’t get me wrong, that’s an admirable trait…. In anyone but Daniel. He’s like a parasite that keeps coming back. It’s really annoying.

                                 I really liked the protagonist in this book Ella, because she didn’t take crap from anyone and she wasn’t afraid to stand of for herself and others as well. And she really has no shame, like none at all. When she walked out of the locked room with the “clothes” Jordan “gave” her, I was a little shocked. And when she punched Jordan in the face, the shock doubled. But that happening just gave me more of a taste of her personality. And then when she fell in love with Reed her whole life didn’t just become about him, she always stuck true to herself. She still had responsibilities and didn’t let anything drive her away from them. Even though Reed said he didn’t want her working at the bakery, she didn’t let her feelings for him get in the way of other things in her life.

The ending was a good fit for this book, because I knew Ella was going to eventually leave, it was just a matter of when. Then once she started to fall in love with Reed, it was a matter of what he’s going to do to drive her away. It was a fitting end for her to leave and I can’t wait to see her outside of the Royal’s clutches.


Broken Prince 

Bookshelf

Plot: 4/5

Dialogue: 3.9/5

Ending: 4/5

Would I re-read this book: Yes

Would I read other novels by this Author: Yes

Would I recommend this book: Yes

Overall Rating:                                    4.15/5   

stars

Bookshelf

I was a little sad that we didn’t get to see more of Ella outside of the Royal household and on her own again. When she disappeared we really saw how much Easton cared for her and considered her family. He wanted to punch Reed when he figured out Reed had done download.jpgsomething to drive Ella away. And Easton had been acting up for a while, and what didn’t make sense is that it didn’t stop when Ella came back. So it must have been something deeper. He slept with Reed’s ex and then Gideon’s ex for some reason. So I just assumed he was angry at them, and he kind of was for being out of the loop.

          In this sequel we found out that Gideon was sleeping with Dinah. OK, Dinah was a straight up b*tch to Ella. Like she wasn’t even trying to face niceness the first time Ella met her. But at the engagement dinner she was a little because Callum was there and she had to put up a front. But then she left the table, then Gideon left, then Easton and her left together and theygiphy.gif found Dinah with Gideon, together. I threw up a little, that was actually gross. Why? Gideon WHY? Just no. But I remember Gideon being a little broken inside. So I thought fine, if this is what going to mend him, well ok. Then, I found out that he’s actually being blackmailed. Ok, this woman is insane. Dinah needs actual help. But I totally agree with the path the author gave her, because of Dinah’s personality it is believable that she would do that.

      The twins, we don’t really see a lot of them. We know that they care for Ella but they don’t really develop a good connection with her besides for the one time where they didn’t know how to make food so she cooked for them. What I don’t like about the twins is that they… Share. Lauren is dating both of them, at like the same time. I don’t really understand them. I don’t like the fact that they both are dating Lauren. Even though they are twins they should still be individuals.

      The ending. Oh, my, that ending. That ending dropped four atomic bombs on us. The first on is that Brooke is dead. Ok we all knew things would be better without her. But we didn’t think she would actually die, that was a shock. The second one is that Reed is the prime suspect in the murder investigation. I mean I would be suspicious of Reed too, but that doesn’t mean he actually did it. The third, it is possible he did it. He told Ella he would do anything to keep him safe, and he didn’t go to dinner because Brooke said she wanted to talk to him. And when Ella got back there was blood all over him, but he said that he just tore a couple of stitches. And the fourth speaks for it self, Steve is alive.

2 thoughts on “Paper Princess & Broken Prince

Leave a Reply

